How to delete your Microsoft account

When you delete a Microsoft account, whether because you no longer need it or because it’s a duplicate account, Microsoft wants to make sure of two things.

How to delete your Microsoft account

  • First, that it’s really you, not someone else trying to close your account.
  • Second, that you’re not leaving anything important behind that you’re going to need later.

To protect your account from accidentally being closed, we may ask you to prove your identity and intent. For example, if you forgot your account information and had to reset your security info, we make you wait 60 days before closing your account.

If you’re sure you want to close your Microsoft account, click the items below for things to check first, how to close it, and what to do afterward

Before you close your account


Closing a Microsoft account means you won’t be able to use it to sign in to the Microsoft products and services you’ve been using. It also deletes all the services associated with it, including your files saved in OneDrive, your Xbox Live data and GamerTag, your Skype ID and contacts, and your Outlook.com, Hotmail, Live, or MSN email accounts. So before you close your account, take the time to tie up loose ends, cancel subscriptions, and make sure you don’t leave anything important behind—like files in your OneDrive, money from gift cards, emails in Outlook.com, and more

Sharing is caring!

How to delete your Microsoft account
1 vote, 5.00 avg. rating (97% score)
Loading Facebook Comments ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *